Utah Championship

 

My birthday is on August 6, less than two weeks away.  But before you all start wishing me a happy birthday, I’m not writing this to solicit any well-wishers or condolences but rather to tell a quick back story.  On July 7th my wife got home from grocery shopping and asked me if I’d like an early birthday present.  Well, you can’t say no, so I excitedly answered yes.  As I opened it, she told me how she’d been toying with getting this for me for a month now and finally decided that she should.  Inside was 2 passes to each day of the Utah PGA Championship that would be played the next week.  They were VIP passes that included a free catered meal and snacks and drinks for the whole tournament.

I spent most of the afternoon on opening day as my buddy and I followed Josh Broadaway and his trio.  I knew nothing of any of the players in the field but found out later that Broadaway grips the club cross-handed (his glove hand is down), hits right-handed, and putts left-handed.  He’s typically only just a few strokes out of getting his PGA card every year.  Of his Thursday/Friday playing group, he’s the only one who made it to the weekend and by chance, another buddy and I found him in a new trio on Saturday.  (Side note: he happened to be playing with Len Mattiace who lost in a playoff hold to Mike Weir in the 2003 Masters.)  We ended up following Josh’s group again for the whole of Saturday.

I’d never done anything like this but I have to say I had a lot of fun just hanging with buddies, watching golf, being outdoors, missing work, and just enjoying myself immensely.  Here are some pictures from the Championship.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Matt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

