Utah Jazz Midseason Roundtable: Can the Jazz Make the Playoffs?

Jazz Logo IIIIts time for a mid-season check-in with your Utah Jazz and there isn’t any better way to do this than to get the voices your know best in the market to help analyze how they are doing.  We’re grateful to have linked up with Amar, Clark, Diana, and Jon from SLC Dunk, Grant from Torn By Sports, Allen and James from The Dog and Deuce Show, and of course Mike and Matt weigh in as well.  If you haven’t been reading SLC Dunk or TBS or listening to D&D, you really need to check them out.

10. Will the Jazz make the playoffs?  If so, which seed will they get and will they get more experience than just four dismal games against the San Antonio Spurs?

Los Angeles Lakers logoAmar: The Jazz have the inside track to make the playoffs, but the Lakers are going to only continue to get better. Ultimately it will come down to injuries for the middle teams in the West. If we get in, I don’t think we’ll be anything higher than 7th. And 7th or 8th is still a first round exit. Is it worth it? I really don’t know.

SA SpursClark: Like I said, I have them as the 7th seed, after all is said and done, and facing either the Thunder or Spurs.  If that is the case then I think taking a series against either of those teams to 5 games, would be considered a success.  I do think it’s silly to hope for the second round of the playoffs under any circumstance this season.

Deuce: I think the Jazz make the playoffs, somewhere from the 6th to 8th seed. As far as will they have a better showing than last versus the Spurs, that depends on who they play in the 1st round. More experience, probably, with the off-season assets I see them winning at least one game against most opponents they could face, but how much experience that translates into for the 2013-14 season would be a question I can only answer next season.

Diana: Yes I believe they will unless the Lakers make one of those magical Lakers trades and the Lakers go on a crazy run to end the season. The Jazz will be a 7th or an 8th seed. But, unless Ty changes how he coaches it will be just like last year.

Thunder LogoDog: With the worst of the schedule behind them, I think the Jazz will make the playoffs, but I don’t see them getting higher than the 6th seed.  They are going to have trouble if they get anything lower than that.  If they draw Oklahoma City or San Antonio than they will be lucky to win one game.  If they want a realistic shot at moving past the first round they need to get in the 5th spot; I just don’t see that happening.

Grant: The Jazz will make the 8th or 9th seed. Oh wait, I guess the 9th seed is not in the playoffs. But you know what the difference is? $200,000 and one draft slot. In the end the 4 games being swept will not truly provide experience just a bitter taste, maybe. The problem I am really having issue with as a fan and blogger: Can the Jazz ever win a title or does the organization even want to?

Jon: Right now I think the Jazz will make the playoffs, but if the Lakers make a run then all bets are off. After finishing up the easiest stretch of the year, the Jazz are in the 8th spot. Houston has been playing better all year, and I don’t think that will suddenly change. I believe 8th spot is what we should expect.

And they’re going to get creamed come playoff time.

Matt: I thing the team makes the playoffs but it doesn’t matter.  What the big difference between the last pick of the lottery and the first or second pick that follows?  Not much.  I’m afraid that what has been said in previous posts for this series will come true, in that the team is content to compete for the playoffs, but doesn’t have the aspirations to excel beyond that.  But I digress.  I see the Jazz earning the 7th seed and the right to win one game (at most) against either the Spurs or the Thunder.

Mo Williams IIMike: If Mo Williams can come back picking up where he left off, Corbin figures it out and the west continues to struggle, I can see the Jazz making the playoffs. It would take a legendary run to make a 6 or 5 seed. Otherwise I see a 7 or 8 seed.

This entry was posted in Matt, Mike and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

