Predicting the Cougars 2013: Cody Hoffman and Kyle Van Noy

BYU

I’m going to hand out another podcast shout out to the Rise and Shout podcast.  They frequently do over/under stats for BYU and I thought I’d come up with some of my own for the AI family and see what we could come up with.  Check back this whole week for the next in depth look into BYU football.

HoffmanBYU has two strong senior returners that could have made a jump to the pros this season but chose not to.  Cody Hoffman is 18 receptions, 537 yards, and 2 touchdowns from becoming the all-time leader at BYU in each statistical category.

Van NoyKyle Van Noy is one of the most exciting players this team has ever seen and his performance in the bowl game last year will not soon be forgotten.

Hoffman: 8.5 receptions and 125 yards/game, 13.5 total touchdowns
Van Noy: 1.5 sacks, 1.5 tackles for loss, 5 tackles per game and 3.5 INT and 5.5 forced fumbles for the season

Carl: Cody Hoffman: Let me be crystal clear: if Hoffman is healthy, he will dominate games.  His toughness, size, speed, hands and improved route-running, make him a double cover every down.  That spells a slight downward revision to his overall production, but he’ll find ways to make sure he’s involved.  Look for him to continue being our bread and butter through the air.

Rec = over   Yds = under   TD = over

KVN: I’m putting my chips down hard on Van Noy.  During the first part of the season I expect him to get more pressure on him from offenses which will limit production.  I hope this doesn’t discourage him because I feel that added pressure will be prevalent by all cougar fans.  But if the other players around KVN step up, it will free him up to do what he does best.

Sacks = under   Fumbles = under   INT = under   Tackles = over   TFL = over

Matt: It is going to be fun to watch Hoffman eclipse all three of these BYU receiving records this season, probably by the time the calendar turns to November.  8.5 receptions is 110 for the year, while 125 yards equates to over 1600 yards.  13.5 touchdowns is certainly possible, but I think that this new offense will ask for a lot of short, underneath routes.  Hoffman will be there grab possession passes and to stretch the field, but as a general rule, I think his numbers dip from last season for those reasons previously stated.  I’m taking the under on Hoffman’s over/unders, but I’m taking the over on all three of his records.

Van Noy is an interesting one to predict.  These numbers are pretty close to last year’s production and without giving opponents something else to watch for, defenses are going to really focus in on KVN and prevent a repeat of what we saw in the bowl game in December.  I think he’ll be closer to 0.5 sacks, 1.25 TFL, and 3.5 tackles per game while the INT and FF numbers might be about right.

Mike: Cody Hoffman will be one of the elite receivers in college football if his yards and TDs are near these projections.  As much as I love Cody I don’t see it.  Defenses will key on him and I believe Taysom is still at least a year away.  Van Noy is going to be even more keyed on and frankly with his great year last year he came nowhere near most of these projections.  Kyle forced zero fumbles, had 2 picks last year.  He did average 1.5 sacks with Ziggy. I see maybe 1 sack per game without Ziggy.   Love Van Noy but if I was a competing offensive coordinator KVN would be priority #1.

Hoffman: Rec = under   Yds = under   TD = under

Van Noy: Sacks = under   Fumbles = under   INT = under   Tackles = over   TFL = under

Scott: UNDER

In a vacuum, maybe it is possible they could put up those kind of those kind of numbers, but there are other people on the team. I believe Taysom Hill will spread it around to all of his receivers, so I don’t think he’ll be able to get over 1,500 yards. Kyle is great at getting to the QB, but I just can’t see him getting over 18 sacks. I think both will have great season and up their draft stock, but I can’t see them doing all of that.

This entry was posted in Carl, Matt, Mike, Scott and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

